Live music venue in Winters, CA

Strange Brothers — Friday, April 17 (CANCELED)

This show has been CANCELED. If you have tickets for this show and you have the means, please consider making the ticket a donation to The Palms, since performers and venue staff depend on ticket sales for their livelihood. If you would prefer a refund, please email us.  

Critics called the band ‘the white swan of Danish jazz’

8PM show, 7:30PM doors
$22 Advance/$26 at the door

Student, senior, and military discounts available

In 1976 Strange Brothers was formed by Simon Spang-Hanssen, Peter Danstrup og Ole Rømer. Later the same year the group won 1st price at the International Jazz Festival in Dunkerque, France, and shortly after saxophone legend John Tchicai joined the band. In the following years the toured a lot in former West- and East Germany, Denmark and Sweden. Two iconic records were made: ‘Darktown Highlights’ and ‘Free Concert’. Critics called the band ‘the white swan of Danish jazz’ and gradually the band evolved around John Tchicai’s many international activities – Tchicai was like a nomad living several places in Europe and USA.

The band members were a part of the international entourage of musicians around him in bands like New Jungle Orchestra and John Tchicai Group. After the death of Tchicai in 2012 the brothers began picking up the old tunes, combining them with new compositions and invited the younger trumpet player Kasper Tranberg to join in. After that they never looked back and the band is now known as one of the most exuberant bands on the jazz scene: a sparkling front and a rhythm group that hasn’t skipped a beat for more than 40 years. In their book you will find both old and new compositions, focusing on energy, unique themes and close-knit interplay.

The present release is shaped by the diversity of the composers and demonstrates a remarkable breadth, versatility and flexibility. The band members have been like all over the place on the music scene playing with names like Michael Gregory Jackson, Billy Hart, Svend Asmussen, Marc Ducret, Marilyn Mazur, and Jan Kaspersen.

Next Post

Previous Post

© 2020 The Palms Playhouse

Theme by Anders Norén